Queensland Dog Sports

Queensland Dog Sports Committee

Below are names of Committee members of the Queensland Dog Sports Committee. Note that each of the disciplines within this group are represented by a Sub-Committee which are controlled and report to the main Committee. Names of those Sub-Committee members appear further down this page.

Committee Members

Barb Murfet – Chair, Scent Work Chair, DWD Deputy Chair, Tracking Deputy Chair, Obedience Chair
Kim Dawson - Scent Work Deputy Chair, Earthdog Chair
Ron Jackson – RAFT Chair
Lisa Kaddatz – Agility Chair
Lawrie Knauth – Obedience
Lisa Litfin – Sled Sports Chair
Vyvyan Mannion - Obedience Deputy Chair, Rally O Deputy Chair, Endurance Chair
Nic Mather – Sprintdog Chair
John Mitchell – Herding Chair
Amber Morey – Agility Zone 3
Gaille Newton – Agility
Chris Pain – Treasurer, Rally O
Gaille Perry  - Lure Coursing Chair
Coral Pethers – DWD Chair, Tracking Chair
Murray Sharman - Agility
Laura Schimke – Obedience
Naomi Shaw - Agility Zone 2, Rally O Zone 2
Des Strong – Rally O Chair
Cheryl Williams – Obedience Zone 2
Andrea Wohluter – Rally O Zone 3
Tabitha Young – Obedience Deputy Chair, Rally O Deputy Chair




Committee Charter


1. At the end of each calendar year, the Committee shall review the previous 12 months’ activities and prepare a comprehensive written report, together with proposals for the work plan for the following year to the Board. The Committee shall review the objectives that it is hoping to achieve in the year ahead and shall provide a written report for the Board on these goals.

2. The Committee is responsible to the Board of the CCC(Q) Ltd and reports directly to the Board;

3. All members of the Committee are appointed by the Board of the CCC(Q) Ltd for a two year term. Such term shall commence from the date of the AGM of CCC(Q) Ltd Members in March each year;

4. The President and Secretary of the CCC(Q) Ltd shall be ex-officio members of the Committee;

5. The Board shall have the power to remove at its discretion any member of the Committee;

6. The Board requires each member of the Committee to sign a Confidentiality Agreement;

7. The Board shall have the authority to intervene in the affairs of the Committee if it considers such action is necessary;

8. The Committee shall have the authority to co-opt extra assistance for specific tasks but the presence of persons co-opted at Committee meetings shall not constitute membership of the Committee;

9. The Committee shall work closely with and liaise with other Committees as often as is necessary to ensure the smooth fulfilment of its objectives and of the CCC(Q) Ltd‘s objects;

10. Accurate minutes of all meetings of the Committee are to be kept and forwarded to the Secretary of the CCC(Q) Ltd for distribution to members of Board;

11. Committees, other than those which have dedicated bank accounts which have been approved by the Board of the CCC(Q) Ltd, are not able to authorise any expenditure. Approval for such expenditure can only be made by the Board of the CCC(Q) Ltd;

12. In relation to bank accounts:

a. A dedicated bank account can only be held in a Committee’s name if the Committee has received prior Board approval to have a bank account in its name;

b. At least one current member of the Board is a signatory to the bank account as well as the Secretary of the CCC(Q) Ltd. Two signatures are required, one of which must be the Secretary or Director;

c. Committees which have a dedicated bank account, can only use that account within the limitations that have been laid down by the Board;

13. It shall be the responsibility of the Chairperson of the Committee to keep the Board fully informed of any matters pertaining to the operation of the Committee. In that respect:

a. The Chairperson shall report to the Board at its regular meetings in writing on any matters considered as being necessary to warrant the attention of the Board;

b. At the Board meeting immediately following the end of each quarter, the Chairperson shall provide for the Board a brief written report on what the -committee has achieved in the preceding quarter;

14. Committees are established at the discretion of the Board to meet a requirement in the fulfilment of the Objects of the CCC(Q) Ltd. If the Board considers that a Committee is no longer serving a useful purpose in meeting those Objects, the Board shall have the right to disband that Committee forthwith


1. The Queensland Dog Sports Committee is responsible to the Board of the Canine Control Council (Queensland) Ltd.

2. It is responsible for:

  • Maintaining oversight of the Obedience, Agility, Rally Obedience, Tracking, Dances with Dogs, Endurance, Herding, Lure Coursing, Earth Dog, Sledding, Drafting and disciplines including derivatives.
  • Make recommendations to Council in respect to those disciplines and associated matters.
  • Conduct Judges Training and examinations in those disciplines.
  • Allocate Trial dates and consider Schedules.
  • Conduct regular reviews of all Competition Rules for these disciplines.
  • Establish and maintain appropriate communications in these disciplines between the CCC(Q) Ltd and Clubs.
  • To conduct State and National Trials.
  • Provide a representative for ANKC Meetings as required.
  • Consider matters referred by Council and provide reports and recommendations.



Annual Awards Individual Trophies Rules
Annual Club Shields Rules
Thomas Family Trophy - Annual Multi Dog Sports Award